[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Marcia Brady/Joker Mashup (#364)

Aiming for high art–instead I made this

MarciaBrady-20151229

I had hoped to wow you on my second to the last drawing. So I chose Marcia Brady (as anyone naturally would). Apparently human facial structure remains outside my ability even after a year of dumb sketches.

Apologies to Marcia Brady.

Reference:

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

19 comments on “Marcia Brady/Joker Mashup (#364)

  1. Jodi
    December 30, 2015

    Oh Kirk Kirk Kirk! 🙂 Love it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    December 30, 2015

    I really like this one too! Love the colors and the skin tones (which I think are really tough). Reading “second to the last drawing” is really making me sad, Kirk. I hope you and your Kirkistanite brethren have a terrific 2016! hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      December 30, 2015

      Thanks for the encouragement, Laura.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday)
        December 30, 2015

        I hope we’ll see you around in 2016!

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        December 30, 2015

        I suspect so. I’ll move away from daily posting but I don’t want to stop learning this new drawing language.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday)
        December 30, 2015

        Glad to hear it! It is addictive!

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        December 30, 2015

        For me it is like a whole new way to communicate. And I really love pulling out the tools at the end of a workday, turning on some music and drawing something. It is very meditative. And sometimes what I draw is almost good, so, bonus.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday)
        December 30, 2015

        The subjects you’re tackling are harder than they look to render and I think you are doing great with them. Perspective is very hard and you have definitely got a good handle on that this year. I think shading is hard with pen, making what you’re doing more of a challenge.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Marcia Brady and ListenTalk and Learning in 2015 | conversation is an engine

  4. Michael Richards (certainline)
    December 30, 2015

    You’re too hard on yourself, Kirk – this is full of character!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      December 30, 2015

      Thanks, Michael. I think it turned out better when I added another shade of brown as shadow. But when I first made the marks to outline the cheekbones, I was repulsed. Thanks for your kind comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash)
    December 30, 2015

    This is awesome!!! What a fantastic choice of subject. I totally got Marcia Brady before I read the text. I am wowed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      December 30, 2015

      Thanks, Charlie. But…really? Thanks for all your great comments over the year. You’ve been an encouragement to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash)
        December 30, 2015

        Thanks so much Kirk! I really hope you’ll keep sketching and never stop, even if the daily blog posts do! I love seeing the way you see the world.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan Feniak
    December 30, 2015

    Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!!! 🙂 Well done Kirk!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo
    December 31, 2015

    You’ve much improved the composition (not to mention the subject) (K)

    Like

  8. Pingback: What is Engagement, Anyway? | conversation is an engine

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2015 by in Dumb Sketch, leaning to draw, Uncategorized and tagged , .
Box Seats
