[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Wee House–#243

On the St. Croix River

WeeHouse-08302015

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

12 comments on “Wee House–#243

  1. memadtwo
    August 31, 2015

    Who needs a McMansion when you’ve got the river? This looks like a cheerful abode. (K.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    August 31, 2015

    I love this, Kirk and once again I’m being pulled in to the story! I love that and you seem to do it every time. I’m drawn to the red area to the right inside the gates – is this a pathway or perhaps a canoe? Love all of your colors in your trees and the shading on the house. My favorite part is the gingerbread trimwork. Watercolor pencil in the trees, or colored pencil? This one pulls me right in. Thanks for bringing a bright spot in my cloudy morning.

    Liked by 2 people

    • kirkistan
      August 31, 2015

      Thanks, Laura. The red was meant to be a cobblestone path, but my proportions were wrong. All the colors were with watercolor pencil. I am learning to vary the color in the trees–thank you for noticing. It really was a cheery little house. I think it was repurposed from a residence to a library. It was chock full of books.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Laura (Createarteveryday)
        August 31, 2015

        Aw, a perfect building to be full of books. So charming. You always seem to choose challenging subjects! I feel like your perspective is becoming more and more sharp, and that’s going to improve any medium you try, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        August 31, 2015

        Thanks, Laura. I appreciate that.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    August 31, 2015

    Ugh to the left. Left! I’m not directionally challenged, I swear lol

    Like

  4. Teresa Robeson
    August 31, 2015

    I agree with Laura that there is a story to be told there! I love wee houses; I keep thinking hubby and I could move into one when the kids move out, but I’d have to seriously declutter. :}

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ahhh…now I want a wee house!! It’s just s great name! Awesome sketch Kirk…I am loving the trees a LOT!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ann christina
    September 2, 2015

    This looks so nice. I´d like to live there. 🏡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2015 by in Dumb Sketch, Learning to draw, watercolor and tagged , , , .
A festive Sunday table
