[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Draw a Bird Day: Oriole–#189

Oriole-07072015

Reference

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

11 comments on “Draw a Bird Day: Oriole–#189

  1. Great job, Kirk! What a beautiful bird the oriole is, too. I always love your bird paintings! Thanks for keeping Draw a Bird Day alive with your enthusiasm and willingness to participate. :))

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      July 8, 2015

      Orioles are really cool.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Especially the baseball team lol. Did you enjoy it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        July 9, 2015

        I did enjoy it. Birds are amazing in their bright colors and voluptuous form. I always feel like my drawing doesn’t do the bird justice.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nothing we do that God makes ever can, IMO. We just have to try and pay homage in our interpretations, I think. I feel like you did that really well. Birds really are fun to try and capture in artwork. I’m glad you enjoyed it!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        July 9, 2015

        Those are good and true words you’ve written.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Kirk. That’s high praise from a gifted writer; I appreciate it. I’ve been watching tons of Charles Reid’s videos and I’m basically saying what he says when teaching about painting flowers, which is we can’t replicate nature, we can only suggest. Which is why he stays so loose. And I thought he said that so well. He didn’t mention God, but I’m pretty sure he meant the same thing. How can we ever hope to come close? Anyway, I ordered his landscape DVD, which should come tomorrow, and I’m really hoping it’ll help my landscape work. I hope I have time this weekend to watch it. His style is worth imitating IMO. Anyway. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo
    July 8, 2015

    Even though the bird is perched, there’s a lot of energy coming out of its little body. Nice.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ann christina
    July 9, 2015

    Wow, great job, Kirk!!! This is so dynamic and I love that you kept the coloring so minimalistic. Beautiful work, and really special! You should frame that one, I bet it´d look great in a frame!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2015 by in draw a bird, Dumb Sketch, Learning to draw, Sketch and tagged , , , .
On a clear day.
