[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Draw a Bird Day: Red-Winged Blackbird–#159B

RedWingedBlackBird-06082015

Reference photo.

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

12 comments on “Draw a Bird Day: Red-Winged Blackbird–#159B

  1. createarteveryday
    June 8, 2015

    What a perky expression!!! Off to see the reference. Looks like you had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      June 8, 2015

      Actually I felt like I cheated. My colors were too uniform. But honestly, the photo was hard to distinguish.

      Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday
        June 9, 2015

        It was a difficult subject, as you say. I find black and white subjects very tough because shading is how you get dimension but it’s so tough to see the tones or to shade them. But that’s such a cool pose!

        Definitely didn’t cheat. You took the high road. The bluebird I chose was much easier. I try always to find the easiest image. I don’t go for the tough ones at all.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. createarteveryday
    June 8, 2015

    Nice work, Kirk!! That’s the wildest photo of a bird I think I’ve seen! Looks like a scarecrow! Cool choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sand Salt Moon
    June 9, 2015

    and I see this goes with your crow, cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ann christina
    June 9, 2015

    So cool!!! You should illustrate childrens books! This bird looks like directly out of some fairy tale.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. memadtwo
    June 11, 2015

    I love this one. He’s dancing…ok I always see dancing.

    Like

    • kirkistan
      June 11, 2015

      I like that you see dancing. It looked more like aggressive behavior to me. But, dancing? Why not?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2015 by in draw a bird, Dumb Sketch, Learning to draw, Sketch and tagged , , .
A festive Sunday table
