[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Da Vinci: Study for Madonna with the Yarnwinder–#108

I liked Jane Hannah’s live sketch: I thought she used very spare lines and still communicated quite a lot. Jane steered me toward Da Vinci, and I became amazed all over again.

YarnWinder-04172015

It was fun to have a pencil in my hand again.

 

Reference

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

6 comments on “Da Vinci: Study for Madonna with the Yarnwinder–#108

  1. createarteveryday
    April 18, 2015

    Lookin good!! I miss pencil also. Nothing really beats it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. memadtwo
    April 18, 2015

    Yes you can learn a lot really looking at great art. And drawing it forces you to look closely. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ann christina
    April 18, 2015

    Wow, this looks wonderful!!! Hope you´ll do and show more of it! I like how the shadows put light in it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kirkistan
    April 18, 2015

    It is really fun to draw what these old master did. I learn so much just trying to match it. I may do more. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Like

  5. OneDrawingDaily
    April 18, 2015

    Great work! your work these days really show that you’re getting somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      April 18, 2015

      Thanks for saying so. I honestly cannot see much improvement–feels like I’m still stuck in the old grade school way of seeing and drawing. But thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2015 by in Dumb Sketch, Learning to draw, Sketch and tagged , , , , .

No Instagram images were found.