[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

: Letters to a poet :

Jane Hannah, a painter in Quebec cites Rilke to ask “Why create?” The answer applies to writing and drawing, and well beyond.

Sketching :: Drawing from Observation

No one can advise or help you — no one. There is only one thing you should do. Go into yourself. Find out the reason that commands you to write; see whether it has spread its roots into the very depths of your heart; confess to yourself whether you would have to die if you were forbidden to write. This most of all: ask yourself in the most silent hour of your night: must I write? Dig into yourself for a deep answer. And if this answer rings out in ascent, if you meet this solemn question with a strong, simple “I must”, then build your life in accordance with this necessity; your whole life, even into its humblest and most indifferent hour, must become a sign and witness to this impulse. Then come close to Nature.
– Rainer Maria Rilke “Letters to a Young Poet”

I chose this quote…

View original post 471 more words

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

4 comments on “: Letters to a poet :

  1. createarteveryday
    March 15, 2015

    Thank You a million times for this. This is shouting to me today. It describes my feeling about art perfectly and makes me feel a bit less crazy too. It’s something I must do. I have no choice in it. And didn’t figure this out til I was 45?! Bizarre. Seriously, this is wonderful stuff and I’m so glad you posted it. I’d heard of it before and never read it. Well, that’ll change now. Do you relate this to your writing and artwork both? Woo! Don’t stop, Kirkistan. Roll, baby, roll!

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      March 15, 2015

      I’ve been reading Rilke for sometime and often recommend him to other writers. Jane Hannah made the connection between writing and painting and I completely agree.

      Liked by 1 person

      • createarteveryday
        March 15, 2015

        I used to dream of being a published novelist. For years! But since I picked up pencil and brush, I don’t even care about reading anymore, let alone writing (unless it’s art books, I look at those constantly). This has never happened in my life; I’ve always had a book to look forward to at the end of the day, but for months, it’s been art, art, art. And art books! The end. Anyway, looks like I’ll be going to the library and picking this one up. Wowza!

        Like

  2. kirkistan
    March 15, 2015

    You will enjoy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
A festive Sunday table
