[the occasional] Dumb Sketch

Backing away from the daily sketching of 2015, to observe more slowly and acutely.

Scenes from a Library–#49

ScenesLibrary-02182015

About kirkistan

Kirk Livingston is a copywriter in St. Paul.

9 comments on “Scenes from a Library–#49

  1. memadtwo
    February 19, 2015

    Yes, computers, not books…one of our local libraries renovated themselves into almost no books (except the children’s section). A sad day. Luckily the branch I use most still has mostly books…just one computer room. Probably 50% of the books I read are just because they catch my eye on the shelves. But those days are numbered I fear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      February 19, 2015

      Our branches have tons of books, but I rarely browse the aisles. These days I go online to our library several times a day to order books fellow draw-ers and writers suggest. I love the library!

      Liked by 1 person

      • memadtwo
        February 19, 2015

        Me too. (spoken like the daughter of a librarian!)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ann christina
    February 19, 2015

    Love the clearness of your lines. Sometimes they give your pictures an almost abstract atmosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kirkistan
      February 19, 2015

      Thanks very much. I really love a clean, precise line and I’d like to do them better. I’m curious what you mean by “abstract atmosphere.” Could you say more about that?

      Liked by 1 person

      • ann christina
        February 19, 2015

        Your lines are very clear and you keep it simple, focus on the essence of your subjects. Therefore you leave out detail and small, maybe unnecessary stuff (which I mean in a very positive way!)- That´s what adds this “abstract atmosphere”, as I called it. Your computers can be computers, they can also be rectangles in the air, they can be frames… You reduce your subjects to their forms or shapes, as for example Franz Marc did (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/32/Franz_Marc_020.jpg). That´s really cool! (Hope you understand what I mean – English is not my mother language…)

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        February 19, 2015

        Thank you! I understand and appreciate that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ann christina
        February 19, 2015

        Just looked on your picture again and realized that what I was talking about were books and not computers. Sorry, did not remember it well and forgot to take a look again before answering…

        Liked by 1 person

      • kirkistan
        February 19, 2015

        Thanks for looking again. I appreciate your comment because I had been chiding myself for my lack of detail. The link you posted was very good and I see what you mean.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2015 by in Dumb Sketch, Learning to draw, Sketch and tagged , , .
On a clear day.
